CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
Tuesday June 2, 2015 - Wednesday June 3, 2015
Beit El Hikma, Carthage, Tunisia
1st MENA Trade Workshop

This workshop is organized by the World Trade Organization Chair at Tunis Business School in partnership with the University of Tunis, World Trade Organization and the Trade Practice at the World Bank. It aims to bring together leading researchers from around the world, young researchers and PhD students in particular from the MENA region.  

The keynote speakers are Alan Deardorff, Associate Dean of the Ford School, John W. Sweetland Professor of International Economics, and Professor of public policy and Lionel Fontagné, Professor of economics at the Paris School of Economics, Université Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne, Director of the Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne (CES, Paris) and Scientific Advisor at CEPII, in charge of Trade Policy.

The organizers welcome papers on analysis at the firm level of issues including firm heterogeneity in developing countries, gains from trade, effects on firms of trade agreements, product quality, duration of trade, market structure, inequality and trade, political economy of trade and dynamics of MENA trade.

The workshop will last a day and half. It will conclude with a policy round table in presence of leading researchers, policy makers and entrepreneurs. The results of the International Trade Centre flagship publication on “SME, Trade and Development” will be presented by Marion Jansen, Chief Economist at the International Trade Centre, and discussed during the round table.


Instructions for authors

All authors are asked to submit a full paper and / or an extended abstract in pdf format only. The extended abstract (maximum 1000 words) should be submitted in English and should clearly state the research question, policy relevance of the papers, the methodology and data used (if appropriate) . The author making the submission must provide the full names, affiliations, and email addresses of all coauthors for each submission. Please note that each individual may present only one paper during the conference, though they may be listed as a co-author on multiple papers.

Submissions to be sent to: menatradeworkshop@gmail.com

Important dates
22nd of February 2015: Deadline for submitting papers

6th of April 2015: Notification of paper acceptance

22nd of April: Final version and author registration

2-3 June 2015: Date of the workshop


Scientific Committee

Alan Deardorff, Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan

Lionel Fontagné, Paris School of Economics, University of Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne and CEPII

Ana Margarida Fernandes, Trade and Integration Unit, World Bank

Mariem Malouche, Trade Practice, World Bank

Mustapha Saadni-Jallab, Institute of Training and Technical Cooperation, World Trade Organization

Habib Zitouna, Institute of Quantitative Studies