CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
MIRAGE



MIRAGE (Modelling International Relationships in Applied General Equilibrium) is a multi-sectoral and multi-regional computable general equilibrium model dedicated to trade policy analysis. It encompasses insights of imperfect competition, product differentiation by quality and origin, as well as foreign direct investment in a sequential dynamic framework where installed capital is immobile. Adjustment inertial come from reallocation of the stock of capital via depreciation and investment. MIRAGE relies on a very detailed measure of bilateral protection and trade barriers thanks to the MAcMap database.

The CEPII is also developping an updated version of the model, called MIRAGE-e, which includes a more detailed description of energy consumption and CO2 emissions, as well as a new baseline scenario at the 2100 horizon based on MaGE growth model.
 Methodology: a Short Description
In the perfect competition version of MIRAGE, each sector is modeled as a representative firm, which combines value-added and intermediate consumption in fixed shares. All primary factors endowments of countries are supposed to be fully employed and their growth rates are set exogenously.

The demand side is modeled through a representative consumer from each region that maximizes its intratemporal utility function under its budget constraint. This unique agent, which includes households and government, saves a part of his income and the rest is spent on commodities according to a LES-CES function.

Presentation

Reference document to mention
  > Decreux, Y. and Valin, H. (2007) "MIRAGE, Updated Version of the Model for Trade Policy Analysis with a Focus on Agriculture and Dynamics", CEPII Working Paper no. 2007-15.

  > Bchir, M.-H., Y. Decreux, J.-L. Guérin and S. Jean (2002) "MIRAGE, A CGE Model for Trade Policy Analysis", CEPII Working Paper 2002-17. 

  > Bchir, M-H., Y. Decreux, J.-L. Guérin and S. Jean (2002), "MIRAGE, un modèle d’équilibre général calculable pour l’évaluation des politiques commerciales", Economie internationale, No. 89-90.


Access to
MIRAGEWIKI


 Responsable
Jean Fouré

 Contact
jean.fourecepii.fr

CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
MIRAGE



MIRAGE (Modelling International Relationships in Applied General Equilibrium) est un modèle d'équilibre général calculable multi-sectoriel et multi-régional, destiné à l'analyse des politiques commerciales. Il incorpore des éléments de concurrence imparfaite, de différenciation des produits par variétés et par gamme de qualité, et d'investissement direct à l'étranger, dans un cadre dynamique séquentiel où le capital installé est supposé immobile. Les inerties d'ajustement y sont liées à la réallocation du stock de capital. MIRAGE s'appuie sur une mesure bilatérale très détaillée des barrières aux échanges et de leur évolution sous différentes hypothèses, grâce à la base MAcMap.

Le CEPII développe aussi une version mise à jour du modèle, appelée MIRAGE-e, qui incorpore une description plus détaillée de la consommation d'énergie et des émissions de CO2, de même qu'une nouvelle trajectoire de référence à l'horizon 2100 à partir du modèle MaGE.
 Methodology: a Short Description
Dans la version de MIRAGE en concurrence parfaite, chaque secteur est modélisé par une firme représentative qui comprend la valeur ajoutée et les consommations intermédiaires en proportions fixées. Les dotations en facteurs primaires des pays sont supposées pleinement employées et leurs taux de croissance sont déterminés de façon exogène.

La demande est modélisée par un consommateur représentatif par région qui maximise sont utilité intratemporelle sous sa contrainte budgétaire. Cet agent unique, qui comprend les ménages et le gouvernement, épargne une partie de ses revenus et dépense le reste dans les biens disponible, selon une spécification LES-CES.

Présentation

Référence à citer
  > Decreux, Y. and Valin, H. (2007) "MIRAGE, Updated Version of the Model for Trade Policy Analysis with a Focus on Agriculture and Dynamics", CEPII Working Paper no. 2007-15.

  > Bchir, M.-H., Y. Decreux, J.-L. Guérin and S. Jean (2002) "MIRAGE, A CGE Model for Trade Policy Analysis", CEPII Working Paper 2002-17. 

  > Bchir, M-H., Y. Decreux, J.-L. Guérin and S. Jean (2002), "MIRAGE, un modèle d’équilibre général calculable pour l’évaluation des politiques commerciales", Economie internationale, No. 89-90.


Access to
MIRAGEWIKI


 Responsable
Jean Fouré

 Contact
jean.fourecepii.fr