CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
BACI

2020 version: 2018 flows available


BACI provides disaggregated data on bilateral trade flows for more than 5000 products and 200 countries. 

The database is built from data directly reported by each country to the United Nations Statistical Division (Comtrade). The CEPII developed a procedure that reconciles the declarations of the exporter and the importer, that may be different in the original data. Products are defined as items from the Harmonized System nomenclature, at the 6-digit level. At a much finer disaggregation level, the nomenclature would not be similar across countries anymore.

For more detailed explanations on the organization and content of the data, please refer to the documentation.

Access the data:

BACI is freely available to anyone, after a quick registration. If you never used a CEPII database before, click on "register" on the right of this page. After filling in the form, you will receive an e-mail to confirm your registration and will be able to access all the CEPII databases. If you are already a registered user for a CEPII database, simply log in using the e-mail address you provided during your registration.

Questions about the dataset?

Please review our Frequently Asked Questions and the CEPII working paper. If you have any remaining questions, issues, or concerns about the data, contact us.
 Methodology: a Short Description
Since countries report both their imports and their exports to the United Nations, the raw data we use may have duplicates flows: trade from country i to country j may be reported by i as an export to j and by j as an import from i. The reported values should match, but in practice are virtually never identical, for two reasons:

1) Import values are reported CIF (cost, insurance and freight) while exports are reported FOB (free on board).
2) Mistakes are made, because of uncertainty on the final destination of exports, discrepancies in the classification of a given product, etc...

BACI provides a unique, reconciled trade flow by implementing an harmonization procedure whose two main ingredients are:

1) CIF costs are estimated and removed from import values to compute FOB import values.
2) The reliability of each country as a reporter of trade data is assessed. If a reporter tends to provide data that are very different from the ones of its partners, it will be considered as unreliable and will be assigned a lower weight in the determination of the reconciled trade flow value.

For more information on the methodology, please read the CEPII working paper.

Presentation

Reference document to mention
BACI: International Trade Database at the Product-Level. The 1994-2007 Version
CEPII Working Paper, N°2010-23, Octobre 2010
Guillaume Gaulier, Soledad Zignago


Download Page

register


 Person in charge
Pierre Cotterlaz

 Contact
bacicepii.fr
 
licence-ouverte-open-licence

CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
BACI

Version 2020 : ajout des flux 2018

Mise à jour: 12 mars 2020

BACI (Base pour l’Analyse du Commerce International) fournit des données désagrégées, pour plus de 5000 produits, sur les flux commerciaux bilatéraux de 200 pays.
 

La base est construite à partir des données de la Division Statistiques des Nations Unies (Comtrade), auxquelles est appliquée une procédure de réconciliation entre les déclarations des importateurs et des exportateurs, développée par le CEPII. Les produits sont définis par la nomenclature “Système Harmonisé”, au niveau 6 chiffres, le plus désagrégé possible (à un niveau plus fin, la nomenclature n’est plus identique d’un pays à l’autre). Une mise à jour est effectuée tous les ans en janvier.

Pour des explications plus détaillées sur l'organisation et le contenu des données, consultez la documentation.
 

Accéder à BACI:

BACI est disponible gratuitement après inscription. Si vous n'avez jamais utilisé de base du CEPII, cliquez sur "s'inscrire" à droite de cette page. Après avoir rempli le formulaire, vous recevrez un e-mail de confirmation et pourrez accéder à l'ensemble des bases de données du CEPII. Si vous êtes déjà inscrit comme utilisateur d'une autre base du CEPII, vous pouvez utiliser l'adresse e-mail associée à votre inscription.


Questions sur les données?

Merci de lire note FAQ ainsi que le document de travail du CEPII. Si vous n’y trouvez pas la réponse à vos questions, contactez-nous.
 Méthodologie : une brève description

Comme les pays déclarent aux Nations Unies leurs importations et leurs exportations, certains flux apparaissent deux fois: un flux du pays i vers le pays j peut être enregistré par i comme exportation vers j, et par j comme importation en provenance de i. La valeur indiquée devrait être la même dans les deux situations, mais ce n’est en pratique pas le cas, pour deux raisons:

1) Les importations sont déclarées au prix CAF (Coût, Assurance et Fret), alors que les exportations sont déclarées FAB (Franco A Bord).
2) Des erreurs sont commises dans la comptabilisation des flux, pour diverses raisons (incertitude sur le pays de destination final des exportations, différences d'appréciation sur la classification des produits, etc.)
 

BACI propose une valeur unique pour chaque flux commercial, qui réconcilie les deux valeurs apparaissant dans Comtrade. La procédure d’harmonisation comprend deux étapes:

1) Les montants exprimés en CAF sont convertis en montant FAB. On estime le ratio CAF/FAB et on le retire du montant CAF pour aboutir à un montant FAB.
2) La fiabilité de chaque déclarant est évaluée. Si un déclarant tend à s’éloigner systématiquement des données fournies par ses partenaires, il est considéré comme peu fiable, et aura moins de poids dans la détermination de la valeur réconciliée.
 
Pour plus de précisions sur la méthodologie, consultez le document de travail du CEPII.

Présentation

Référence à citer
BACI: International Trade Database at the Product-Level. The 1994-2007 Version
CEPII Working Paper, N°2010-23, Octobre 2010
Guillaume Gaulier, Soledad Zignago


Page de download

s'inscrire


 Responsable
Pierre Cotterlaz

 Contact
bacicepii.fr