CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
Jeudi 12 décembre 2024 - Vendredi 13 décembre 2024
Call for papers until 15 September 2024: Immigration in OECD countries - 14th Annual International Conference

The CEPII, LISER and the OECD as well as their partners from the International Migration Economics Chair at Paris School of Economics, the Fondazione Rodolfo De Benedetti, the LEM (Laboratory of Economics and Management), and the University of Luxembourg are jointly organizing the 14th Annual Conference on “Immigration in OECD Countries” on December 12-13, 2024. The conference will examine the economic aspects of international migration in OECD countries by mapping the migratory flows and analyzing their socio-economic determinants and consequences. Topics of interest include, among others, the determinants of immigration to the OECD, migrants’ self-selection, the political economy of immigration, its labor market and public finance effects, as well as migrants and refugees social, political and economic integration.


LEAH BOUSTAN (Princeton University)
JAN STUHLER (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)
MARCO TABELLINI (Harvard University)

Special Issue : a selection of papers from the conference will be considered for publication in a special issue of the Canadian Journal of Economics.

Young Scholar Award for the “best immigration economics paper”: a special prize will be awarded to one of the papers presented at the conference. The amount of the prize is €2,000 and is funded by the PSE Chair in International Migration Economics. When submitting your paper, please indicate whether you plan to compete for the prize. To be eligible, all authors should be less than 35 by December 31, 2024.


Submissions : all papers examining immigration in OECD countries from an economic perspective will be considered. Authors must submit a full paper directly on the conference website : https://immigoecd14.sciencesconf.org. The author making the submission must provide the full names, affiliations, and email addresses of all co-authors for each submission. Please note that each individual may present only one paper during the conference, though they may be listed as a co-author on multiple papers.

Fees : there is no registration fee. A conference dinner will be hosted on December 12. The organizers are not in a position to cover travel costs. However, they will cover up to three nights of accommodation in a hotel close to the conference venue.


September 15, 2024 : Deadline for submitting papers
October 15, 2024 : Authors are notified of the selection results
November 1, 2024 : Deadline for registration
Question should sent to : immigoecd14@sciencesconf.org


Michel Beine (Université du Luxembourg, CREA), Simone Bertoli (CERDI), Xavier Chojnicki (Université de Lille, LEM), Frederic Docquier (LISER), Jean-Christophe Dumont (OECD), Anthony Edo (CEPII), Giovanni Facchini (University of Nottingham), Tommaso Frattiniv (University of Milan), Christina Gathmann (LISER), Albrecht Glitz (Pompeu Fabra), Camille Hémet (PSE), Hubert Jayet (Université de Lille, LEM), Clément Imbert (Sciences Po), Thomas Liebig (OECD), Anna-Maria Mayda (Georgetown University), Jean-François Maystadt (UC Louvain), Katrin Millock (PSE), Jesús Fernández-Huertas Moraga (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid), Eleonora Patacchini (Cornell University), Paolo Pinotti (Università Bocconi and Fondazione Rodolfo De benedetti), Lionel Ragot (Université Paris Nanterre, EconomiX, CEPII), Hillel Rapoport (Paris School of Economics, Université Paris 1, CEPII), Ariell Reshef (Paris School of Economics, CNRS, CEPII), Sandra Sequeira (London School of Economics), Jan Stuhler (Carlos III Madrid), Arthur Sweetman (McMaster University), Liam Wren-Lewis (PSE).


Dominica Andrzejczak (OECD), Jean-Christophe Dumont (OECD), Anthony Edo (CEPII), Lionel Ragot (Université Paris Nanterre, EconomiX, CEPII), Jennifer O’Brien (OECD), Hillel Rapoport (Paris School of Economics, Université Paris 1, CEPII), Véronique le Rolland (CEPII), and Jérôme Valette (CEPII).