CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
World Trade Flows Characterization

2021 version: 2019 flows available


WTFC (World Trade Flows Characterization) provides reconciled unit values at the year – exporter – importer product level, and associates each flow with a trade type (one-way trade, intra-industry trade in similar products or in differentiated products) and a price range (low, middle or high range).

Product categories correspond to the Harmonized System nomenclature, at the 6-digit level, with more than 5000 items. A more aggregated version of the data, easier to handle, is proposed with the CHELEM nomenclature.

For more detailed explanations on the organisation and the content of the data, please read the documentation and the companion paper.
 Methodology: a Short Description
Unit values from TUV are harmonized following a method close to the one used to construct BACI. Transport costs are withdrawn when necessary and the reliability of each reporting country is assessed to give less weight to less reliable coutries when reconciling mirror trade flows.

Based on those harmonized unit values, a range is attributed to each trade flow by comparing its unit value to unit values of other flows of the same product.

We also provide tools to analyze intra-branch trade: the Grubel and Lloyd index and the Fontagné and Freudenberg (1997) categorization. Among the intra-branch flows, this categorization makes a distinction between trade in similar products and trade in differentiated products by comparing unit values.
 

Presentation

Reference document to mention
C. Emlinger & S. Piton, (2014), 'World Trade Flows Characterization: Unit Values, Trade Types and Price Ranges', CEPII Working paper, n°2014-26.

Download Page

register


 Contact
pierre.cotterlazcepii.fr
licence-ouverte-open-licence

CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
World Trade Flows Characterization

Version 2020 : ajout des flux 2018


WTFC (World Trade Flows Characterization) fournit des valeurs unitaires réconciliées au niveau exportateur - importateur - produit, ainsi qu'une caractérisation des flux par gamme (haut, moyen ou bas de gamme) et par type de commerce (univoque, croisé de variété ou croisé de qualité).

Les produits correspondent à la nomenclature “Système Harmonisé”, au niveau 6 chiffres, le plus désagrégé possible (à un niveau plus fin, la nomenclature n’est plus identique d’un pays à l’autre). Une version agrégée de la base, plus simple à manier, est également proposée, avec un découpage selon la nomenclature CHELEM.

Pour des explications plus détaillées sur l'organisation et le contenu des données, consultez la documentation.

Les profils pays permettent de visualiser de manière interactive l'information fournie par WTFC.

 Méthodologie : une brève description

Les valeurs unitaires de TUV sont harmonisées selon une méthodologie proche de celle de BACI: on retire les coûts de transport lorsque le flux est déclaré par l’importateur et on évalue la fiabilité de chaque pays dans ses déclarations pour accorder moins de poids aux pays les moins fiables lors de la réconciliation des flux miroirs.

A partir de ces valeurs unitaires harmonisées, on attribue une gamme à chaque flux en comparant sa valeur unitaire à celle des autres flux du même produit.

On distingue également le commerce univoque du commerce intra-branche à travers deux indicateurs: l’indice de Grubel et Lloyd et la classification de Fontagné et Freudenberg (1997). Cette dernière incorpore l’information sur les valeurs unitaires en différenciant, au sein des flux intra-branche, le commerce croisé de variété du commerce croisé de qualité.

Présentation

Référence à citer
C. Emlinger & S. Piton, (2014), 'World Trade Flows Characterization: Unit Values, Trade Types and Price Ranges', CEPII Working paper, n°2014-26.

Page de download

s'inscrire


 Contact
pierre.cotterlazcepii.fr
licence-ouverte-open-licence